H Gallery in Thailand is proud to announce an exhibition of contemporary Filipino Artists in Thailand featuring: Poklong Anading, Argie Bandoy, Valeria Cavestany, Lena Cobangbang, Louie Cordero, Maria Cruz, Gaston Damag, Dex Fernandez, Arvin Flores, David Griggs, Robert Langennegger, Romeo Lee, Pow Martinez, Manuel Ocampo, Jason Oliveria, Carlo Ricafort, Timo Roter, Gerardo Tan, MMYu, Maria-Jeona Zoleta.  Curated by the renowned artist Manuel Ocampo, Bastards of Misrepresentation is a showcase of the diverse practices currently being explored by the Filipino avant-garde. This exhibition will highlight the significant contribution this group of artists is making to the history of art in the Philippines, while embracing a new era of outward-looking ambitious artists who are working hard to put Filipino creative communities on the world stage. The artists included represent the cutting edge of Filipino art in the last five years. Many have won awards and some have established reputations in Europe and Australia. Others are legendary performers from Manila's underground art and music scenes.
Bastards of Misrepresentation is concerned with a cultural scene happening in the Philippines but does not claim to be a definitive show of Philippine art. The title is ironic because the Philippines is a country with a hybrid culture, embodying a complex heritage and colonial history while it's political identity reflects the pervasive ‘misrepresentation' of its people. Bastards of Misrepresentation provokes issues around social critique, aesthetic autonomy, and the philosophical politics of expression; as well as examining the alternate conditions of authenticity and the nature of shared affinities. 
Bastards of Misrepresentation is accompanied by a special exhibition of paintings by the Thai artist Warawut Intorn which extends the interest of the issues raised, at H Project Space. Further, a selection of artists will exhibit at H Gallery's new space in Chiang Mai(H GALLERY CHIANG MAI) in the show Quiet Noise, for August-September 2012.